Our use of Cookies

This site uses only cookies strictly necessary to ensure the site works correctly.

Please read about how we use cookies.

Hide this message

Strictly necessary and non-essential cookies

By clicking accept all cookies, you agree to our use of cookies and to our cookie policy.

We use third-party cookies on this site.

You have accepted necessary cookies only

You can change your cookie settings at any time
Hide this message

Contact Us

General Enquiries

National Bee Unit

The Animal and Plant Health Agency (APHA), Room 11G03 York Biotech Campus, Sand Hutton, York, YO41 1LZ.

Email: nbu@apha.gov.uk

Telephone: +44 0300 3030094

 

Do you have a question?

If your enquiry relates to bumblebees, please contact the Bumblebee Conservation Trust

For enquiries relating to swarms and general beekeeping husbandry, please contact the British Beekeepers Association or the Welsh Beekeepers Association

Before contacting us, please take a look at our FAQ page to see if your question is answered there. Thank you.

NBU Office

BeeBase Manager Adam Parker
adam.parker@apha.gov.uk
Telephone: 0300 3030094
National Bee Inspector Andy Wattam
andy.wattam@apha.gov.uk
Telephone: 0300 3030094
Programme Support Diane Gillibrand
Diane.Gillibrand@apha.gov.uk
Telephone: 0300 3030094
Helen Newton
Helen.Newton@gov.scot
Head of National Bee Unit Kate Wilson
kate.wilson@apha.gov.uk
Telephone: 0300 3030094
Technical Manager Kirsty Stainton
Kirsty.Stainton@apha.gov.uk
Telephone: 0300 3030094
Contingency Planning and Science Officer Nigel Semmence
nigel.semmence@apha.gov.uk
Telephone: 0300 3030094
Healthy Bees Plan Project Manager Rebekah Clarkson
Rebekah.clarkson@apha.gov.uk
Telephone: 0300 3030094
Programme Support Samantha O'Toole
samantha.o'toole@apha.gov.uk
Telephone: 0300 3030094

Beekeeper in Scotland?

General contact details for your local Bee Inspector can be found at: www.scotland.gov.uk

Lead Bee Inspector - Scotland


Claire Gill

The Bee Health Delivery Lead in Scotland works for the Scottish Government Rural Payments and Inspections Directorate.

If you have any questions, you can contact the bee health team in Scotland by emailing: Bees_mailbox@gov.scot

Postal address: Strathearn House, Broxden Business Park, Lamberkine Drive, Perth, PH1 1RX. Phone: 0300 244 5400 

Find your nearest Inspector

Region

North West England

Counties Included

Cheshire, Cumbria, Derbyshire, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside, West Yorkshire

Regional Bee Inspector

Mark McLoughlin
mark.mcloughlin@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07500 891425

Seasonal Bee Inspector
Caroline Coughlin
caroline.coughlin@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07500 891423

Julia Hoggard
Julia.Hoggard@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07900 394303

Ewan Houldridge
ewan.houldridge@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07500 976936

Kay Phillips
kay.phillips@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07796 435125


Region

Western England

Counties Included

Avon, Gloucestershire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, West Midlands, Worcestershire, Herefordshire

Regional Bee Inspector

Andy Wattam (RBI)
andy.wattam@apha.gov.uk
Mobile No: 07884 791009

Seasonal Bee Inspector
Benjamin Bowen
benjamin.bowen@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07557 178512

Elizabeth Gardner
elizabeth.gardner@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07867 351610

Bronwen Hopkins
bronwen.hopkins@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07796433626

Guy Preece
guy.preece@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07909 875217

Colleen Reichling
colleen.reichling@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07990 138898


Region

North East England

Counties Included

County Durham, Lincolnshire, Northumberland, Nottinghamshire, North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, Tyne & Wear, East Yorkshire

Regional Bee Inspector

Dhonn Atkinson
dhonn.atkinson@apha.gov.uk
Mobile No: 07775 119437

Seasonal Bee Inspector
Keith Bartlem
Keith.Bartlem@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07385 397936

David Bough
david.bough@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07824 408973

Adrian Kennedy
adrian.kennedy@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07500 915191

Brian Murphy
brian.murphy@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07747 765934

Timothy Roper
timothy.roper@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07775 119441


Region

Eastern England

Counties Included

Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Suffolk

Regional Bee Inspector

Peter Davies
peter.davies@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07900 292160

Seasonal Bee Inspector
David Burns
david.burns@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07900 365721

Peter Folge
peter.folge@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07775 119433

Christopher Milton
christopher.milton@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07823 425133

Ian Nichols
Ian.Nichols@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07557 178416

Jack Silberrad
Jack.Silberrad@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07776 165869


Region

South West England

Counties Included

Cornwall, Devon, Scilly Isles, Somerset

Regional Bee Inspector

Megan Seymour
megan.seymour@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07775 119475

Seasonal Bee Inspector
Leila Goss
leila.goss@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07775 119453

Philip Jordan
phil.jordan@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07795503841

Annabel Lewis
annabel.lewis@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07500 954171

Donald Mudie
donald.mudie@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07443 255651

Marcus Pilling
marcus.pilling@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07500 953948


Region

Central England

Counties Included

Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Dorset, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Oxfordshire, Wiltshire, Rutland

Regional Bee Inspector

Daniel Etheridge
daniel.etheridge@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07979 119376

Seasonal Bee Inspector
Alexandra Grau
alexandra.grau@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07775 119434

Robert Poole
robert.poole@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07979 220760

Phillip Spillane
philip.spillane@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07775 119470

Krysia Watson
krysia.watson@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07500 911157


Region

South East England

Counties Included

East Sussex, Greater London, Kent, Surrey, West Sussex

Regional Bee Inspector

Thomas Bickerdike
Thomas.Bickerdike@apha.gov.uk
Mobile No: 07775 119464

Seasonal Bee Inspector
Danyal Conn
Danyal.Conn@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07584 202700

Lisa Jenkins
Lisa.jenkins@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07810094088

Daniel Morgan
daniel.morgan@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07500 954390

Isaac Mullane
Isaac.mullane@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07552 262787

Julie Parker
Julie.Parker@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07769 933191

Stewart Westsmith
stewart.westsmith@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07769 933172


Region

Wales

Counties Included

Clwyd, Dyfed, Gwent, Gwynedd, Mid Glamorgan, Powys, South Glamorgan, West Glamorgan

Regional Bee Inspector

Daniel Baxter
daniel.baxter@apha.gov.uk
Mobile No: 07771038646

Seasonal Bee Inspector
Thomas Birch
Thomas.birch@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07796021642

Paul Davies
paul.davies@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07557566228

Edmund Thomas
edmund.thomas@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07385 930914

George Tonge
george.tonge@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07769 643138

Christopher Welton
Christopher.Welton@apha.gov.uk
Tel No: 07900 166143